Mayhem Crimes: Punishments And Penalties

Aggravated mayhem

                 Aggravated mayhem punishments

Mayhem can be described as a violent act by a person, resulting in the loss of a body member of another person. Unlawful and malicious attacks by a person on another, which leaves the other person disabled or disfigured, are also considered as a case of mayhem. There are serious laws in place to fight such crimes, and the punishments for these crimes can range from mild to severe, depending upon the circumstances they’re committed under.

Aggravated mayhem, on the other hand, refers to the extreme or reckless disregard for the physical or psychological well-being of another person. It is considered as a case of aggravated mayhem if a person holds down another while causing disfigurement of a body part, or if he or she taunts the victim after injuring him or her.

Convicted for mayhem charges

Once convicted of mayhem the defendant can then face a formal probation, a maximum fine of $10,000 or a prison sentence of two, four or eight years in the California State Prison.

Enhancements to the sentences

Additional sentences can be given to the defendant if the court deems so. There are two sentence enhancements that the California judge can impose on the defendants. The judge can impose either or both of them according to the hearing. The first sentence enhancement is related to the victim of the mayhem. If the victim satisfies any of the following criteria, then the judge has the power to impose sentence enhancements. The criteria are given below:

  • Victim is under 14 years of age
  • Victim is 65 years of older
  • Victim is blind, deaf, or developmentally disabled
  • Victim is a paraplegic or quadriplegic.

The second sentence enhancement is related to the extent of the injury suffered by the victim. If the victim was subjected to immense bodily harm by the defendant then the judge can sentence the defendant to a three to six year sentence enhancement. If the defendant was to be convicted of torture, then the penalty is life imprisonment in the California State prison.

Death to the victim

California felony murder

                       Aggravated mayhem penalties

Mayhem can often result in the death of the victim, which might be purely accidental. However, if there is enough evidence to suggest that the violent act by a person lead to the death, then the California felony murder rule makes the defendant liable to charges of murder in the first degree.

These are some important points regarding the various punishments given to those criminals who perpetrate violent acts of mayhem. Further information on this can be availed at online legal resources.